Ubuntu Gaming

November 6, 2007 at 8:39 pm Leave a comment

So there is all sorts of talk on Ubuntu forums about how linux is not a gaming pc and then when people do talk games they talk about having wine emulate the game.  I’m not a huge gamer so this doesn’t play a huge role in what I have to deal with but I do enjoy a few games every now and then.  I did use Wine to emulate and play World of Warcraft and didn’t have much problem at all.  My frame rate was a little slow but there were changes I could make in configuration files to fix that problem and when I did anything to load a new area it would freeze on me.  I have since deleted the game from my computer since I did have a few issues with it and it was taking up too much space on the already small partition of Ubuntu.  Since then I have stuck to only native linux games.  One of my top games I enjoy playing is WarZone 2100 (http://wz2100.net/) which is a real time strategy game that reminds me of the old Starcraft games.  Another game I really enjoy is Nexuiz which is a first person shooter.  I believe it is mostly for online play however I am still honing my skills playing against bots on the local PC.  Its been a while since I have played any first person shooters.  There are a few other games (Tremulous) in there that I have played also, some more first person shooters but those are the two that I have spent the most time on.  I am still looking for another game I enjoyed playing Sim City, race car games, and Civilization.  I know FreeCiv is out there I have not tried it out yet.  If anyone has any other suggestions just let me know. 

The last thing I have to talk about is the one problem I have had just in case someone else has this problem and they google it.  When playing games after playing for a certain amount of time the game window went from full screen to 1/4 screen windowed size and would freeze for a second and then jump back to full screen and be playable until it would do it again a little later.  The fix to this action is to turn Compiz Fusion off and then the problems will be fixed.  So happy linux gaming!

Entry filed under: Ubuntu. Tags: , , , , , .

Daily Report Gourmet Recipe Manager

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


