Ubuntu Gaming

December 3, 2007 at 10:42 pm 3 comments

So as I have been slowly transitioning over to Linux (Ubuntu) I have read in several areas that gaming is not the forte of linux and that is no problem with me.  For the past year I have been a huge fan of World of Warcraft, I’ve not played for any measurable amount of time for about 4 weeks now.  It does work fine in wine though, I did test it at first, just took up too much room on my small linux partition.  So my goal was to find all sorts of games out there and try them all out and my only requirement was that they do not have to use wine in order to run.  Fair enough, the point of today’s list is just to list out the ones I have tried and that I am keeping and not keeping.  Mind you I am not a huge gamer by any means and most of my testing of these programs is based on my sole opinion.  If you have any other suggestions for me please leave a comment so that I can try them out.  As I have time I will post screen shots and more in depth information about the games I do like, with where to download them.  Some are in the repositories others are not.

Games that I like and am keeping
FreeCiv – This one is a civilization clone, have a few problems with it but nothing too bad.
TORCS – A driving game that is very enjoyable, you can race normal cars, nascars, and dune buggies
Battle for Wesnoth – Turn based strategy
Frozen Bubble – Leisure game mostly for the girlfriend.
Pingus – Lemmings clone
Scorched 3D – A turn based blow up the tank game, based off Scorched Earth the old DOS game.
Tremulous – A first person shooter that pits aliens vs humans
Urban Terror – First person shooter that I have read is comparable to Counter Strike (never played CS) *my favorite*
Warzone 2100 – A real time strategy, somewhat like Starcraft
Widelands – A building clone game, direct (almost) clone from Settlers 2
Dark Oberon – Age of Empires clone, not as robust
Secret Maryo Chronicles – Mario Brothers clone
Secret of Ultimate Legendary Fantasy Unleashed (SoulFu) – RPG game that reminds me of Secret of Mana for SNES.

Games I did not like and have tried and removed
VDrift – race car game, very difficult to play with a keyboard, heard it is awesome with a joystick
Sauerbraten – first person shooter with rave reviews, I had trouble with the controls
Spring – I could not get this one to work correctly for some reason
BosWars – Much like Warzone 2100 but I had trouble installing it and got bored with it
Open Arena – First person shooter like Quake, I just wasn’t impressed
TileRacer – Very neat game if you are bored, but there was no actual racing that I could find on it
Battle Tanks – Again a neat game I found through freakedness, hard game play
Nexuiz – Much like Open Arena, but with Tremulous and Urban Terror it took 3rd place
Slam Soccer 2006 – a soccer game that had cool graphics, but the games were short and I had trouble with the actual gameplay.
Savage – It sounded really cool, multiplayer with FPS and RTS elements, I played one round and found it with some very boring spots and extremely confusing.

So there is my list, please do not leave mean comments about my choices here, they are completely based on my experience as a gamer and how well I was able to install and play the game without getting frustrated.  If there are any games out there that I should have gotten to that I did not please leave a comment with the name and I will be sure to check them out although they won’t make this list if I do like them I will leave a new post about them when I get to that part of this.

Entry filed under: Ubuntu. Tags: , , .

Daily Report Daily Report

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matthew  |  December 3, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    Have you or will you try any emulators? i.e.-NES, sega, snes, etc?

    Reply
  • 2. Ashi Kacheria  |  December 4, 2007 at 10:44 am

    a nice article…

    Reply
  • 3. afderrick  |  December 4, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    I have not tried any emulators for the old gaming consoles although I have used them in previous windows installs. I am familiar with them I’ve just not played around with them much in a long time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


