Backup Computer Cont’d

January 21, 2008 at 9:13 am Leave a comment

Well I went out to NewEgg.com where I buy all my computer parts to see how cheaply I could build a PC.  It ended up coming out to about just under $300.  This is with a small miniATX case, no CDROM drive, and a 320GB hard drive to get me started out.  I even put a celeron processor in it just because that is all I need is the cheap hard drive space.  I did put about 2GB of memory in it and I could probably knock that all the way down to 512MB and still be fine, that would probably save me another $30 but would still keep me around $250 plus shipping and handling.  So no new PC for me.  I did have someone leave a comment about using a laptop, unfortunately my girlfriend uses the one laptop in the house and I don’t have any spare laying around.  I do have my old Windows machine that is just sitting in the corner of the living room.  Its so loud though i would hate to leave it on all the time.  Ooh, but I do have an extra 80GB hard drive in that one I could use, that would knock about $100 off it, or whatever the cost of that hard drive was.  I might be back in business!!

Entry filed under: computing.

Building a backup computer Making a Life Plan

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


