Weekly Weigh-in (254.4)

March 4, 2008 at 5:23 pm 3 comments

Well, I am at least losing a little weight although I feel like I am falling further and further behind where I want to be.  Since I started tracking my personal weight loss (outside of the 20 pound weight loss thing I was doing with coworkers), I have lost almost 11 pounds.  So it has taken me 8 weeks to lose 11 pounds, thats not too bad, I mean I have done better than just 1 pound per week I guess, but it’s nowhere close to where my goal of 2.2 pounds per week is.  So I have made some changes and will try and be stricter on my diet and see if I can reverse things.  Right now I am looking at around 225 pounds for my wedding, which is about 10 pounds over where I wanted to be.  That is when I will re-address my weight and fitness goals and might start trying to maintain or I might try and continue losing weight.  I have in my head what I want to look like when running around with a shirt off.  I think that 215 pounds will get me close to that goal, but at the same time, I’m not sure.  Looking at just my BMI charts, I think that 190 would be very ideal; it would get me to a BMI of 22 which in my head seems like a good idea.  I think the BMI is somewhat retarded whenever you get past a certain height, since a guy in my office is extremely skinny, same height as me, and has a BMI of 24.  Well so I have broken out into working out twice a day now to increase my metabolism early in the morning, burn some extra calories and then workout in the afternoon again.  Right now in the morning what I am doing is lifting weights 3 days a week.  I do a whole body workout and it is almost as much of a cardio workout as it is a traditional weight lifting workout.  I want to see where I’m at after this week and I might change it up a little.  The other two days of the week I do high intensity interval training (HIIT) which I do on the treadmill.  I read about it on the site, http://www.fitnessblackbook.com a great site that I would suggest anyone look at.  I’ve read almost every article/entry on it in the past 2 or 3 weeks.  The HIIT that I do works like this; it starts and ends with a 5 minute warmup/cooldown which is 5 minutes of walking (3.5 speed).  From there I alternate 1 minute of running and 1 minute of walking.  I start running at 7.0 and every running interval I do I increase the speed by 0.5, it is definitely intense.  In the afternoon I am continuing to do what I was, Monday I run 1.5 mile to check my time, Tuesday and Thursday I have PT, and follow it up with a spin class.  Wednesday I do a 45 minute long run to where my goal is more than 6 miles in 45 minutes; this would place me at a 7:30 minute mile steady for the entire time.  Friday afternoon I want to start swimming before going home for the day (I might wait until it warms up just a little bit more).  Then I want to start coming into the gym on Saturday and Sunday early.  Currently after I do my morning routine, I workout on an empty stomach, I eat a 0 carb breakfast (3 egg whites).  This allows me to not really have any carbs until lunch time with my sandwich so ideally I am still burning fat this entire time instead of just burning carbs.  This is probably the hardest part of the day, I am so hungry and today for instance I had maybe 10 pretzel sticks which immediately curbed my appetite until it was time to eat my sandwich.  The only other problem I have had is just making sure I stick to my diet without faltering; I think once I get that discipline back then I will definitely start to see 2 or 3 pounds a week just flying off without any problem.  I am currently 7 pounds over where my goal was for this week, so I have a lot of catching up to do, but I don’t think it’s possible.  We will see.  Wish me luck, and good luck in your own weight loss goals.

Entry filed under: Weight Loss.

Been a while… Praying to Zeus

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia Cunningham  |  March 5, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Congratulations on your new journey and recent loss. I wanted to pass some information to you that I have been posting myself.

    Carbs can be a dieter’s best friend

    My book, The Reverse Diet has been showing dieters all over the world that this research is true- I have said for 9 years, “Take my carbs away from me and look out”. LOL I lost 172 pounds in 9 months while eating pasta, potatoes, and corn in my diet. My co author, Heidi Skolnik- nutritionist and fitness director of the NY Giants, once stated, “I never had an obese client from eating bananas and potatoes only” This article further backs our book’s message….

    Provided By Prevention

    We Found It: Why eating carbs can help you slim down–and how to do it right

    Potatoes get a bad rap as little more than a waist-thickening waste of calories. But amazing new research puts spuds squarely at the center of the latest weight loss buzz, along with other unfairly maligned carbs such as corn and rice. The reason: All these foods contain resistant starch, a unique kind of fiber you’ll be hearing a lot more about. In fact, experts agree that it’s one of the most exciting nutrition breakthroughs they’ve seen in years. “Resistant starch has the potential to become the next hot nutrition trend,” says Leslie Bonci, RD, author of the American Dietetic Association’s Guide to Better Digestion. Indeed, more than 160 studies have examined this little known nutrient’s remarkable health and weight loss benefits.

    Carbs are a dieter’s best friend
    <a href=”Carbs can be a dieter’s best friend

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia Cunningham  |  March 5, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Carb’s are dieter’s best friend

    Reply
  • 3. hiit on weights days  |  March 19, 2008 at 3:22 am

    […] Weekly Weigh-in (254.4) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


